Yoga Teacher Training Syllabus

Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh  >  Yoga Teacher Training Syllabus

Yoga Teacher Training Syllabus at Sri Yoga Peeth


Syllabus of Yoga Teacher Training and Yoga Retreat course:

Yoga Teacher Training Syllabus: The Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is the dynamic flow of various Hatha Yoga Asanas. The real purpose of Hatha Yoga is to help an individual reach the stage of “Sthiram Sukham Aasanam” (Stable and Comfortable position of Sitting) as told by Sage Patanjali so that the subject can meditate without any physical limitations. In Hatha Yoga Pradipika also in the very first couple of verses, the aim of Hatha Yoga is to make a person prepared and able to reach Raj Yoga i.e. meditation.

Hatha yoga enhances health, and wellness and builds strength for this purpose. However, being overly flexible and associated with good shape and body type is not the purpose of Hatha yoga. Here the students will be introduced to a number of Hatha Yoga Aasana with the purpose of getting good health and making a disease-free body. At the same time, students will be asked to understand the therapeutic benefits of each of these Aasanas so that they can be utilized for advancing the good health of practitioners and their family members and society. The following asanas will be taught and practiced in the Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga.

1. Parshvava Chakrasana – Sidebending Pose2. Tadasana A & B – Palm Tree Pose A & B
3. Vrikshasan – Tree Pose4. Utkatasan – Chair Pose
5. Trikonasana – Triangle Pose6. Padahastasan – Hands to Feet Pose
7. Garudhasan – Eagle Pose8. Natarajan – Shiva Dancing Pose
9. Shirsha Padangushthasan – Head to Big Toe Pose10. Parivatrita Trikonasana – Reverse Triangle Pose
11. Uttanpadasan – Raising Feet Pose12. Ardha Pavanmuktasan – Half Gas Release Pose
13. Pavanmuktasan – Gas Release Pose14. Viprit Karani –
15. Kandhrasan – Shoulder Pose16. Setubandhasan – Bridge Pose
17. Matsyasan A – Fish Pose A18. Naukasan – Boat Pose
19. Sarvangasana – Shoulder Stand20. Matsyasan B – Fish Pose B
21. Salabhasan – Locust Pose22. Viprit Naukasan – Inverted Boat Pose
23. Bhujangasan – Cobra Pose24. Dhanurasan – Bow Pose
25. Vakrasan – Twisting Pose26. Janushirasan – Nose to Knee Pose
27. Vajrasan – Strong/Thunderbolt Pose28. Mandukasan – Frog Pose
29. Uttan Mandukasan – Raising Frog Pose30. Supta Mandukasan – Sleeping Frog Pose
31. Ushtrasan – Camel Pose32. Yoga Mudra A
33. Vadha Gomukhasan – Bound Cow Face Pose34. Supta Vajrasan – Sleeping Thunderbolt Pose
35. Paschimottasan – Seated Forward Bend36. Simhasan – Lion Pose
37. Ardhmatsyendrasan – Half Fish Lord Pose38. Shirshasan – Head Stand Pose
39. Ardha Chandrasan – Half Moon Pose40. Majariasana – Cat and Cow Pose
41. Uthitha Parsvakonasan – Extended Side Angle42. Parshvaottanasana – Intense Side Stretch
43. Halasana – Plow Pose44. Chakrasana – Wheel Pose
45. Karnpidhasan – Knee to Ear46. Crocodile Practices (4 Variations)
47. Yoga Mudra B48. Gomukhasana – Cow Face Pose
49. Poorna Matsyendrasana – Full Fish Lord Pose50. Mayurasana – Peacock
51. Kukkutasana – Rooster Pose52. Uttana Kurmasana – Raising Tortoise Pose
53. Padma – Bakasana – Lotus Crane Pose54. Baddha -padmasana – Bound Lotus Pose
55. Akarnadhanurasana – Archer Pose56. Ugrasana – Ferocious Pose
57. Parvatasana – Mountain Pose58. Tolangulasana – Scale Pose
59. Virasana – Hero Pose60. Sankatasana – Contracted Pose
61. Garbhasana – Womb Pose62. Bhadrasana – Gracious Pose
63. Kapotasana – Pigeon Pose64. Ekpadaskandhasna – Foot Behind the Head.Pose
65. Vatayanasana – Horse Pose66. Padmasana – Lotus Pose
67. Siddhasana – Accomplished Pose68. Swastikasana – Prosperous Pose
69. Shavasana – Corpse Pose70. Makarasana – Crocodile Pose


The following topics are explored in philosophy:

  1. Meaning of yoga according to Yoga Sutra and Geeta, concepts, history
  2. Eight paths of yoga including:
    • Jnana
    • Raja
    • Bhakti
    • Karma Yoga
    • Hatha Yoga
    • Kundalini
    • Laya
    • Mantra
  3. Ashtanaga Yoga of Patanjali
  4. Panch kosha (five layers or sheaths over consciousness)
    • Annamaya kosha (physical sheath) – Gross body – Conscious state
    • Pranamaya kosha (energy sheath) – Subtle body – Subconscious state
      • Prana (bioplasmic energy)
      • Panch-prana (five vital airs)
      • The chakra system, its qualities, activating and balancing techniques
      • Energy or nadi system
      • Kundalini
    • Manomaya Kosha
      • Meditation: introduction, practices, meditation and mind
    • Vijnanamaya kosha (intuitive sheath) – Wisdom
    • Ananadmaya kosha (bliss sheath) – Causal body – Unconscious state
  5. Samaadhi

Pranayama Syllabus

The practice of Pranayama is very necessary for calming down the mind. Pranayama practices also become the basis of various meditation techniques.

  1. Here the pranayama will be taught with great care so students learn the process and get better at their practices. All the following techniques will be taught initially in a beginner manner without ‘Kumbhaka’ (retention of breath) and slowly they will be encouraged to do it with ‘Kumbhaka’ on advanced levels. The following techniques will be covered:

    • Anuloma Viloma, Nadi Shodhan
    • Bhramari
    • Ujjayi
    • Suryabhedena
    • Shitali
    • Chandrabhedana
    • Sitkari
    • Theory of Murccha
    • Bhastrika
    • Kalpalbhati

Kriyas(Cleansing process)

  • Jala neti
  • Sutra neti
  • Kapalbhati
  • Agnisara
  • Trataka
  • Shankhaprakshlana

Teaching methods Syllabus

  1. Style
  2. Age group
  3. Level
  4. Demonstration
  5. Adjustment
  6. Instruction
  7. Seating arrangement
  8. Alignment

Anatomy and Physiology

  1. Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology
  2. Digestive System
  3. Respiratory System
  4. Cardiovascular System
  5. Musculoskeletal System